Welcome to Me

20170416181419_IMG_0094

Welcome to my blog and online gallery. I’m so glad you made it.

I’ve compulsively made art my whole life – these days I see my need to create sort of as a side effect of being alive in a world full of wonder and atrocity.

For most of my life I have existed in/with a body that marks me out as unacceptable. My fatness makes me a target for bullies and ‘concern trolls’ alike. I’m not welcome in many, many spaces – either explicitly  (“no fat chicks”) or implicitly (“oh no we don’t carry that size!”).

Sculpture is the creation of a presence which I often feel I lack. It is my way of colonising the world outside my own body. Of building into existence a space where people with “othered” bodies can see themselves and be welcome. I think of a growing network of inclusivity and acceptance and celebration – a hive, with my sculptures as the markers, the milestones, and the connectors.

There are so many reasons for a body to be considered unworthy of acceptance – not a single one is true. You deserve respect for your autonomy. Your body, no matter the shape/ size/ colour/ ability, is an extraordinary thing that allows you to exist. I want to help you see yourself in the world. I want to make the world see you.

My art will be political, my feminism intersectional, my hope unyielding. There is room for everyone in this world. There has to be.

Leave a Reply

